Reviews
GIVEAWAY: Greater Cleveland Aquarium PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Sunday, 10 June 2012 13:52

Our family were guests of the Greater Cleveland Aquarium this past weekend. You can read about our adventures here.

 

AquariumCollage

 

Happy to announce that one Classy Chaos commenter will win FOUR TICKETS to the new aquarium. Just leave one comment per email address letting me know what your favorite aquatic animal is or who you would take to tour the aquarium with. Giveaway ends June 20, 2012 at midnight where one commenter will be chosen by random.org. Good luck!

Last Updated on Sunday, 10 June 2012 20:09
 

Go Together through eBay PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 05 December 2011 21:08

Every year our family travels to Chicago for the holidays.

 

Chicago is where I'm from and also home to my big obnoxious family who adores my children to pieces. Since Chicago has built in babysitters for my husband and I, we have the luxury of going out often during our trips. So at the beginning of every December I start reconnecting with friends and plan nights out on town. Or down town. What do the "cool kids" say when they are going out? It's usually a long thread of emails where ideas are thrown around, dates/times are discussed and venues are shot down because of holiday budgets. People are afraid to purchase tickets when they aren't sure everyone will commit. I started poking around online for a better way to organize our nights, besides my usual social media sites. Because I am on the eBay Parent Panel, I figured I'd give eBay a shot (no one required me to write this - it's just a very cool social media idea) and check it out.

 

eBay Go Together is the easiest way to plan group events. You can split the cost of tickets with friends, easily track those who have paid, and even discuss plans.


 

I invited a couple of friends to see La Cage Aux Folles on the 23rd in Chicago. I invited my friends via email and private FaceBook message. I'll let you know how the process goes. It seems like a very cool concept.

Last Updated on Monday, 05 December 2011 21:49
 

Whirlpool Duet: Removing stains made easy PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Sunday, 30 October 2011 19:13

We are spending less time doing laundry thanks to the sensors inside the Whirlpool Duet - they detect water levels and cut down on washing/drying cycles.

 

But that's not the only way we are saving time. What used to be the brutal job of stain-treating our children's laundry is now gone. Before owning the Whirlpool Duet we had a basket full of stain removal products in addition to our trusted vinegar to help us pretreat stubborn stains. We sorted the laundry and pulled out anything that was in desperate need of OxiClean. After treating a mountain of kid's laundry we tossed everything in the wash and hoped for the best. There were many stains left behind. I have a memory box full of baby clothes to prove it.

 

Treating stubborn stains with the Whirlpool Duet is as easy as 1, 2, 3.

 

1. Toss laundry inside the washing machine.

childlaundry

Even the kool-aid stained, white, button down shirt from a certain nine-year-old boy. Do not pretreat.

childlaundry3

 

2. Locate the DEEP CLEAN button and press START.

childlaundry1

 

3. Determine the SOIL LEVEL and press START.

childlaundry2

 

Go about your day and forget about the button down shirt that was handed down from Cousin Phillip to Cousin Billy to a certain nine-year-old boy who managed to get it stained for the first time. No need to check-in to see if the laundry is done, the Whirlpool Duet sings to you signifying it's done. Pull out the stain-free laundry and wonder who you can hand it down to next.

childlaundry4

 

Pretty incredible, no? Nothing was spot treated or photoshopped.

 

I wrote this review while participating in a test-drive campaign by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of Whirlpool and received a complimentary Whirlpool Duet washer and dryer to facilitate my review. All opinions are my own.

Last Updated on Sunday, 30 October 2011 19:51
 

Is "Real Steel" appropriate for kids under 13? PDF Print E-mail
Written by OHmommy   
Sunday, 09 October 2011 00:00

My husband and nine-year-old son had the opportunity to watch an early screening of Real Steel, courtesy of DreamWorks.

 

“Real Steel” is an action drama about a former boxer (Hugh Jackman) who, against all odds,  gets one last shot at a comeback when he teams up with his estranged son (Dakota Goyo) to build and train the perfect contender for the new high-tech sport of robot boxing.

 

Knowing that our son (the eldest child) was a little more sensitive to violence than our four-year-old daughter (who, unlike him, grew up watching movies for a more mature audience), we decided to prepare him beforehand by watching the movie trailers on YouTube and answering questions. "That looks AWESOME!" our son shouted in the comforts of our well lit home in broad daylight. "I can't wait to see it!" We discussed how the movie was fiction and answered all his questions ranging from who writes the story to how CGI (Computer Generated Imagery) works. On the night of the early screening I kissed both my husband and son before they left for the movie, "Have a nice father-son date!"

 

Minutes later I received a frantic phone call.

 

"HE. WON'T. STEP. INSIDE. THE. MOVIE. THEATRE."

 

"What do you mean?"


"He saw the movie posters outside of the theatre and realized it was dark inside. He refuses to go."

realsteel

 

"Put him on the phone."

 

"Jay. Honey. My love. Mommy and Daddy would never ever make you do anything you really didn't want to do. But we know you will enjoy this movie. Just like you enjoyed Star Wars, Harry Potter and The Transformers. Mommy and Daddy read about the movie and together we decided it was something you can watch."

 

"But.... sniffle, sniffle. But, it's rated PG-13."

 

"All the old movies we watch at home should be rated PG-13 but in the old days that rating didn't exist."

 

"Really? But... I wish you were here, Mom."

 

"Real Steel is a movie about a daddy and his son building robots that box. You've seen worst."

 

"Really?"

 

"Yes. I promise that if you don't like it..."

 

"Okay. Bye, Mom!"

 

Just like that, he was off the phone and on his way into the movie theatre with his dad. Needless to say my husband and son came home with smiles planted across their faces. Their very first father-son movie date to see an action packed flick, that my husband said reminded him of Rocky, was a huge success.

 

Since watching the movie they've had many more discussions that have come up. One night after religion class my son approached his father, "Hey, Dad. That movie we saw really reminds me of the David and Goliath story my teacher just read to us. David was the underdog, just like Atom in the movie." That connection made my heart smile. "Hey, Dad. We should build something together, like a tree house in our back yard from all the scrap metal we find, just like in the movie." That connection made my husband's heart swell. I have not seen the movie myself but from what I've heard from the two boys I love the most is that the father-son underdog theme makes this movie "SO AWESOME" (my nine-year-old's words).

 

There's no right answer to "What age is appropriate for a PG-13 movie?" - only you know your child well enough to decide. I'm certain that the first movie I watched in a movie theatre with my father ("E.T" - 1982 - PG) would be rated a PG-13 today (the PG-13 rating was introduced in 1984) just for the profanity alone. I was only six!

 

What was the first movie you watched, in a movie theatre with your parents? I am curious. One person will win an awesome super-retro Real Steel teeshirt, stickers and temporary tattoos . The retro "Real Steel" tee-shirt is pretty cool. One entry per email until 10-13-11 when chosen by random.org.

Last Updated on Sunday, 09 October 2011 06:52
 

Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey presents "Fully Charged" in Cleveland, OH. PDF Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   
Monday, 03 October 2011 19:46

GIVEAWAY WINNER >>>> Here are your random numbers:

4	

Timestamp: 2011-10-09 18:41:33 UTC

 

We love the circus. The exotic animals, the daring trapeze artists, the bright lights and electrifying excitement throughout the arena captivates my children. This year we are most looking forward to seeing Tabayara an animal trainer whose rare ability to communicate with animals allows him to ride rearing stallions at a fully charged gallop and orchestrate majestic four-ton Asian Elephants in a symphony of dance. Also this year there are more breathtaking dare-devilry and superhuman stunts - my nine-year-old can not wait to see it in person after watching some daring acts on America's Got Talent all summer long.

 

Trapeze your way over to the circus this year for "Fully Charged".

circus2011

Cleveland performances at The Q:

Wednesday, October 19: 7:30pm

Thursday, October 20: 7:30pm

Friday, October 21: 7:30pm

Saturday, October 22: 11:30am/ 3:30pm/ 7:30pm

Sunday, October 23: 11:30am/ 3:30pm/ 7:30pm

 

Tickets prices:

$85 (Discount Drug Mart Circus Celebrity)

$68 (Front Row)

$43 (VIP)

$20 **trade price

$15

 

Discounts:

Save $8 in advance on each ticket with CODE: FFA8 (HERE on The Q's website)-- or save $4 on each ticket on the day of the show with CODE: FFA4. (Restrictions: FFA8 code valid through October 18, 2011. FFA4 code valid October 19-23, 2011. Not valid on Discount Drug Mart Circus Celebrity, Front Row and VIP seats. Limit 6 tickets per transaction.)

 

Giveaway:

Here's your chance to win FOUR TICKETS to the performance date of your choice. Comment for your chance, one entry per email - let me know what you look forward to seeing the most at the circus. Giveaway ends this Saturday October 8th, 2011 at midnight where one winner will be picked by random. Good luck and see you at the circus!

 

Disclosure: I was given tickets in exchange for hosting the giveaway. All opinions are my own.

Last Updated on Sunday, 09 October 2011 13:43
 

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 18

Random Posts

Bad day
Today is a terrible, horrible, no good, ...
There are many things that I don't blog about.
Before hitting publish I read over my wo...
Fuzzy fuzzy cute cute
She stood there, in the middle of the ca...
How 4 sorority girls crushed my dreams of SYTYCD
In between my bi-weekly training session...
I'm Speaking at BlogHer '12 I'm Speaking at BlogHer '09
I'm speaking

Author

Pauline Karwowski.

Is a self proclaimed globe trotting, minivan driving, SAHM stiletto ho.

Happily married mother to 3 Cleveland natives: Jay the son, Lola the daughter, and Fifi the banshee.

Now in Chicago, IL.

The content on this blog is the opinion of the blogger.

ClassyC_button_Mother

Email Subscription

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

CrocStyle Insider